OBX.png

I have an old Oberheim OB-X that I love madly. I have used it on many recordings, and it always sounds unbelievably well. Crazy old machine, it’s wild and unpredictable, one of the very first Oberheim polysynths, from before the production was tidied up with the subsequent OB-Xa and OB-8 synths.

It’s getting to be too old, big and precious to carry around to studios these days, let alone taking it on stage, so this week I’ve been painstakingly sampling and looping every note on the keyboard. Dual-oscillator sawtooth waves with the filter wide open, to be used inside my Nord Stage 2.

At first I was tempted to keep these samples to myself, but actually the right thing to do is the exact opposite: http://tinyurl.com/jyb64jb

Any Nord Stage users wanting to use these, feel free. Only 8mb and an enormous sound reminiscent of the Bladerunner soundtrack and early Prince recordings.