I went to see the New York Philharmonic rehearse Bruckner’s 6th symphony yesterday at the Avery Fisher Hall, conducted by Christoph Eschenbach. What a fantastic orchestra. The violin section was simply beyond belief. To see 100 musicians play so well together that you have the impression of hearing one single performer is very impressive. Especially when you consider the amount of music they play so masterfully in a year… in 2012 they were the world busiest orchestra with 144 performances, rarely playing the same pieces more than 4 or 5 times. Incredible. Here’s another great performance of Bruckner’s symphony with Solti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.


The showcase with Nolwenn Leroy on Tuesday at the East Village venue “The Drom” went well. There was a full house, and even though the sound equipment at the venue was seriously run down, to a point I’ve rarely seen in Europe, we made it through alive and even had the entire house dancing the jig. Playing a French variant of Celtic music in New York City wasn’t what I initially signed up for when hoping to become a professional musician, but I love the variety of all these different experiences. Last time I was here, I played songs in Hebrew with Yael Naïm. I wonder what it will be next time.


IMG_6612