I went to see this orchestra’s set last night at the Jazz Standard. Unfortunately without the direction of Gunther Schuller, who is directing in this video, but they still sounded great. Mingus is such a master of color, and his widow Sue is doing a great job keeping his legacy alive with this orchestra and the big band. Great players all around, but I have to give a special mention to the trombonist Frank Lacy. Last night was the third time I heard him live, and the first two times really made a mark on me: 1997 in Paris at the New Morning with Roy Hargrove’s Crisol Habana project. And on one of the best tours that ever happened: D’Angelo’s Voodoo tour in 2000, that I saw in Paris at the Grand Rex. Both shows made a lasting impression and seriously influenced me, and Frank Lacy was a big part of both…