Last day today on l’Ile de la Réunion. We had two gigs with Imany during our stay, organized by the Wayo Festival. The first night went really well, a full house at the beautiful Theatre de Saint Gilles Les Bains. The second night was a bit more quiet, it was a free show at Vue Belle a bit further up in the mountains, with fewer people and cooler weather! We still had a good time there, and after my first eight gigs I have finally learned all the songs and have no need for the sheet music anymore… We’re getting ready for three shows at La Cigale in Paris next week, 20+21+22 september, with a few special guests, it’s looking to be a lot of fun!

While I was here on the island, I subbed for Fred Renaudin on Friday night with Nolwenn Leroy, who was also playing the Wayo Festival. She had a huge success recently with her pop/celtic album “Bretonne”, selling over a million copies. I played a lot of these melodies in 2003-2004 with Alan Stivell, it was fun to play them again. And she has an excellent band, including my old friend Laurent Cokelaere on bass.